Discovery Education Studio provides several pathways for teachers and pupils to share and collaborate on Boards.
Note: When sharing content with pupils, pupils must have a Discovery Education account and your classes must be set up.
A Live Link is a hyperlink to an in-progress board that shows changes in real-time. It can be shared with pupils or other teachers. You might use this when a board may be modified. Teachers may want to use the link with Google Classroom.
Note: By default, Live Link viewers can create a copy of a board.
Publishing a board creates a snapshot of the board that can be shared via a link (only teachers can publish with a link) or a Discovery Education class (pupils and teachers can publish to a class). You might use this when you have a final version of a board you want to share. Teachers may want to use the link with Google Classroom.
Note: When a pupil publishes a board to a teacher, it is like submitting a project to the teacher. Any changes a pupil makes to a board after publishing will not be visible to the teacher.
When a pupil publishes a board to a teacher, you will see a notification on your Studio dashboard. You can view the published board, but there is no grading functionality because it was not submitted as an Assigned Studio board.
Adding collaborators to your board invites them to the board on which you are working.
Note: when pupils within a class invite collaborators to a board, the teacher of that class is automatically added as a collaborator, too.
There are a few options when adding collaborators:
- Allow Edit: toggle on if you would like collaborators to be able to make changes to your board.
- Allow Chat: collaborators can use Studio's filtered/moderated chat to discuss the board.
- Make Moderator: making a collaborator a moderator of the board allows them to add other collaborators and share the board.
When a pupil collaborates with another pupil or invites a teacher to collaborate on a board, you will see a notification on your Studio dashboard.