Find answers to some of the most frequently asked questions about Discovery Education Studio.
Studio and Devices
Does Studio work on my mobile device?
Studio works on any device, from anywhere, including all mobile and tablet devices. It even allows users to take pictures or shoot video or images directly from the device into a Studio board.
Does Studio work on all browsers?
Studio is fully functional on all internet browsers.
Studio Collaboration, Chat, and Moderation
Can pupils invite each other to collaborate on a board?
Yes. Pupils can invite other pupils in their classroom to collaborate on a board. The classroom teacher is automatically added to the board as a moderator. At the time of sending the invite, the pupil can define what features collaborators will have access to. This includes editing, chat and the ability to share the boards with others.
How many pupils can collaborate on a board at once?
Twenty-eight pupils can collaborate on a board at one time, though it is not recommended to have so many collaborators on a single board. Explore other ways to share a board with your pupils such as assign, distribute, and publish, or have smaller groups of pupils collaborate on different instances of the board.
Pupils can chat within a board while they are working. Is the chat saved? Can a teacher see the chat history?
Yes, the chat is saved. All collaborators, including the teacher, can view the entire chat history. Pupils cannot delete chat entries. The teacher can delete chat entries. Inappropriate words are automatically hidden from view.
Will schools be able to turn off the entire chat feature?
No, but the teacher can turn on or off the chat in an assignment.
Is there a way to attribute work to each contributor in a collaborative assignment?
Yes. The Activity History timeline in all Studio boards will show actions (e.g. editing, viewing and contributing activity) and who performed them. In addition, while an individual is actively editing their board, their name will appear on the object they are editing.
Can I create an open assignment with no grade, start and end dates?
Yes. You can even assign an empty board. That is why we call the feature “Assignment / Distribute”. Use this option when you want to track pupils work and have an easy way to access the boards and provide feedback.
How best can I monitor pupil activity on boards?
Creating a board as an assignment allows you to easily track pupil progress and provide feedback. NOTE: Pupils do not have this option.
Can I distribute a board that is not an assignment?
Yes. You can use the “Live Link” option to quickly share a link with pupils or teachers. If you need to make updates to your board, those updates will be automatically shown to anyone with that “Live Link”. NOTE: Pupils do not have this option.
Can I share boards within Google Classroom or another Learning Management System (LMS)?
Yes. If you want pupils to collaborate on a board, use the Invite Collaborators with Link option. If you do not want pupils to collaborate, use the “Live Link” option. NOTE: Pupils will need to be logged into DE to view the board.
Can I print a board?
Yes. You can make a board a PDF and then print it.