Discovery Education Studio provides an opportunity to assign boards to pupils so they can interact and edit a copy of the board for various assignments.
Note: When assigning content to pupils, pupils must have a Discovery Education account and your classes must be set up.
Make Collaborative: assigning a board and making it collaborative means that pupils will access the same copy of a board. Leaving this option toggled off means each pupil will receive their own copy. You might use this when pupils are doing group work or a project and you want them collaborating on a single board.
Allow Edit: allowing editing of the board allows pupils to make changes to their copy of the board (or their group's copy of the board if it is collaborative). You might use this when pupils are expected to write a response to a question or reflect on the board content.
Allow Chat: allowing chat enables a pupil to chat with the teacher who assigned the board, or allows multiple collaborators to chat. You might use this when you want a pupil to be able to chat questions about an assignment, or if a board is collaborative and you want pupils to be able to discuss a project.
Add Due Date: set a due for pupils to submit the board. Select a standard due date from the buttons, or select Edit to choose a custom due date. You might use this when all assigned boards must have a due date. If you do not select a date, the default date is Tomorrow.
Scoring: if pupils will be graded on a scale, select the points possible for the assignment. Leave blank for a board to be graded pass/fail. You might use this when all assigned boards must have a scoring option. If you do not enter points possible, the default scoring is pass/fail.
Assign Boards to Pupils
Once a board is assigned to a pupil, it will appear on their My DE homepage when they log in. It is important that "Allow Edit" is selected when assigning a board to pupils.
When a pupil clicks on the assignment, it will display the details of the assignment. Pupils should select Start Assignment to begin working.
Pupils are then able to complete their work on the Studio board using the tools and template provided. Once they are finished and ready to submit, they will click on the check mark in the top right corner of their board. Then, confirm that they are ready to submit the board. Boards remain locked to the pupil until the teacher reviews the board.
Teachers can access boards that have been shared by pupils inside Studio by clicking on their Notifications in the left sidebar. Teachers can join in the collaboration on shared boards. The only boards that can be marked are ones that have been assigned by the teacher. Teachers can click Grade to view the board.
Teachers can view the board and determine if it needs to be sent back or marked. For both options, feedback can be provided by the teacher. Teachers have the option of Full Credit or No Credit when marking boards.
Once a teacher has either sent back the Studio board, the pupil can then access the assignment again, review the board, and feedback. The feedback appears in the chat window on the right side of the board. (If chat has been turned on.)
If the board has been marked, the pupil can view the grade and any feedback by clicking on Details in their Notifications window of Studio. Pupils can also review the original assignment by clicking Review.